Different types of saffron in All over the world | 5 types

Different types of saffron

There are different types of Saffron in Iran. In the following, a brief description of the types of saffron is presented.

For information on the exact price of saffron, you can check the Iranian saffron price Page or you can contact us via WhatsApp or our Contact us page. Also, you can visit our different packaging of saffron on our Buy saffron online page.


Different types of saffron


1. Types of saffron-Dasteh (in English Bunch) Saffron

“Dasteh” or “Dokhtar-Pich” is the main strand of Iranian saffron. When the farmer picks the strands of the saffron from the petals, he dries them and puts them together. The top part of these strands is red and the bottom part is orange. This type of Iranian saffron is graded as the 4th grade and the overall color of this type is between 120 to 150 units. The price of this type of saffron is the lowest.

For information on the properties of saffron during pregnancy, you can refer to the article on the Benefits of saffron for pregnant women.


Different types of saffron


2. Types of saffron-Poushal Saffron

As you can see from the figure above, if the farmer cuts the stigma from the part lower than the red part, it is called Poushal saffron. In this type of saffron, you can see a yellowish strand. This shows that the saffron is genuine and therefore many people trust this type of saffron more (However, if you trust the brand’s name, Sargol and Super Negin are better). This type of saffron has an overall color of between 170 and 250 units.


Different types of saffron

 3. Types of saffron-Sargol Saffron (aka Sarghalam)

If the farmer cuts the top red part of the stigma, it is called Sargol saffron (which means the tip of the flower in Persian). Therefore, this type of saffron is all-red. The overall color of this type of saffron is between 210 to 260 units.

Different types of saffron

4. Types of saffron-Super Negin Saffron

This saffron is actually a type of Poushal saffron. if the farmer separates the thick strands of red stigma, this type of saffron is produced. Many companies use this type of saffron for export and have the best appearance and color among all types of saffron. Ana qayen also uses this type of saffron for export. This saffron has an overall color of 230 to 270 units. It is worth mentioning the production of this type of saffron is a bit difficult and time-consuming, yet the stigmas are long and thick which is alluring to the customers.

Different types of saffron

 5. Types of saffron-“Konj” or White Saffron

As you studied earlier, saffron has two parts: sargol (stigma containing three branches) and root (cream). The main part is red and is famous for Sargol (which means the tip of the flower in Persian). The white part attached to the end of the Sargol is called the saffron root or white saffron. The color of these strands is light yellowish-white. Saffron root is also famous for Konj saffron.

Although the color of this part of saffron is very low, there are also saffron compounds in this part. That is why some people use this type of saffron in the treatment of some diseases. White saffron has a good flavor but is much less expensive than other saffron products because of its low color. Saffron root does not contain Crocin. The main color of saffron is crocin which causes the red stigma of the saffron.

However, White Saffron has all the properties of Sargol saffron. But what is the use of white saffron? Saffron has many medical properties that if you can not buy it because of its high price you can use white saffron (cream) for a much lower price. Traditional medicine used the infused properties of the saffron root. Many famous scientists such as Zakaria Razi, Al-Biruni, and Ibn Sina used saffron to cure diseases.

As was mentioned earlier, saffron root does not have the color of Sargol, yet it includes all the properties of saffron that have led to significant results in new research on saffron, including the treatment of jaundice, sexual and liver enhancement, learning disorders, etc.


Different types of saffron

How to make saffron date Halva

Delicious saffron dessert

Real saffron vs fake saffron

How to store saffron at home?

How to grow saffron

Full knowledge about saffron plant

How to infuse saffron

Saffron gheyme khoresht

How to make Iranian saffron Tahchin

Where is the best saffron grown in Iran?

Prohibitions on the use of saffron during pregnancy

Medicinal properties of saffron

How much saffron are we allowed to eat?

The recipe of a very Delicious dessert with saffron

About Ana Qayen saffron

Many people are looking for a place where they can buy Iranian saffron. We are a supplier of Iranian saffron and if you want to buy saffron in bulk, you have come to the right place. Our saffron is harvested from the city of Qayen in Iran, one of the most famous cities for the quality of saffron. This city is known as the city of saffron in Iran.

The finest Iranian saffron
The finest Iranian saffron

To buy saffron in bulk, you may visit our Buy saffron online page. We also have another branch in Lyon, France, which makes it very easy for you to order in Europe. For information on the exact price of saffron, you can contact us through the Contact us page or WhatsApp.

The finest Iranian saffron

When you want to buy saffron in bulk, you should be sure about the quality of the saffron that you are buying. Our saffron has got a European certificate from SAI CHIMIE lab which is one of the most famous labs in Europe. Also, our saffron is packaged in different and luxurious packages. You can see our different packing below. You can buy saffron in bulk with these packages in our online shop.


The finest Iranian saffron

You can also find us on social media via Instagram, Facebook, Linkedin, Pinterest, and Youtube. In the following, you can see our different packaging of saffron.

The finest Iranian saffron

The finest Iranian saffron

The finest Iranian saffron

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.